ACLU Announces Newly Elected Board Members

Affiliate: ACLU of Louisiana
December 14, 2009 12:00 am

ACLU Affiliate
ACLU of Louisiana
Media Contact
125 Broad Street
18th Floor
New York, NY 10004
United States


NEW ORLEANS – The ACLU of Louisiana announces that four new members will join its Board of Directors for two-year terms beginning January 1, 2010. In addition, eight members have been re-elected for an additional two-year term.

Joining the board for the first time are new members Lauren Bartlett, an attorney with Southeast Legal Services in New Orleans; Derwyn Bunton, Chief Public Defender for Orleans Parish; Laila Hlass, staff attorney at the Immigration Law Clinic of Loyola Law School in New Orleans; and Hector Linares, with the juvenile defense clinic at LSU Law Center.

Re-elected members are David Benoit, of Breaux Bridge, Galen Brown, of New Orleans, Emma (Bessie) Daschbach, of New Orleans; Forrest Forsythe, of New Orleans, Charles Kincade, of Monroe, Al Shapiro, of Baton Rouge, Sharonda Williams, of New Orleans, and Ron Wilson, of New Orleans.

The ACLU is our nation’s guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country. The ACLU of Louisiana works to stop racial profiling, end discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, stand up for freedom of speech and religion, and demand humane living conditions in prisons.

By completing this form, I agree to receive occasional emails per the terms of the ACLU’s privacy policy.

ACLU's Vision

The American Civil Liberties Union is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed to every person in this country by the Constitution and laws of the United States of America.