ACLU Honors Norma Shapiro, Wainwright Bank

May 27, 2008 12:00 am

Media Contact
125 Broad Street
18th Floor
New York, NY 10004
United States

Nixon White House Counsel John Dean, Humorist Kate Clinton, and
Director Errol Morris to Headline 27th Annual Bill of Rights Dinner


BOSTON — At its annual Bill of Rights Dinner on Wednesday, May 28, at Boston’s Marriott Copley Place Hotel, the American Civil Liberties Union Foundation of Massachusetts will honor Norma Shapiro with the organization’s Roger Baldwin Award, and Wainwright Bank & Trust with the Beacon of Liberty Award.

Norma Shapiro serves as Legislative Director for the ACLU of Massachusetts. During her 20-year career, Shapiro’s work has contributed to some of the most historic civil liberties victories in the country, including equal marriage rights, reproductive freedom, privacy rights, and fair financing of public education. The Roger Baldwin Award, which Shapiro will receive, is named for Roger Baldwin, the Massachusetts-born founder of both the ACLU of Massachusetts in 1919 and the national ACLU in 1920.

Past Baldwin award recipients have included civil rights leader Rosa Parks, author Kurt Vonnegut, and New York Times columnist Anthony Lewis.

Wainwright Bank & Trust Company will receive the Beacon of Liberty Award, in recognition of its progressive social agenda on homelessness, affordable housing, HIV/AIDS rights, immigration, and gay rights. Through its lending practices, philanthropy, and advocacy, Wainwright Bank has become an important catalyst for social change here in Massachusetts. Wainwright Co-Chairman Robert A. Glassman will receive the award on behalf of the company.

The evening will also feature prominent national speakers.

• John Dean, former White House Counsel to Richard Nixon, has become one of the country’s most incisive critics of American politics as well as an outspoken critic of the Bush administration’s abuse of presidential powers;

• Political humorist and entertainer Kate Clinton will offer her irreverent and hilarious take on politics, culture, and much more. Winner of the Pioneer Award at the 2007 GLAAD Media Awards, Ms. Clinton is a keen social critic, bringing her unique brand of humor to critically important social justice issues;

• Academy Award-winning filmmaker Errol Morris will speak and present a short clip from his new documentary, “S.O.P.: Standard Operating Procedure,” a haunting look at Abu Ghraib and the psychological scars torture leaves upon U.S. soldiers.

The ACLU Foundation of Massachusetts’ annual Bill of Rights Dinner takes place this year at Boston’s Marriot Copley Place Hotel beginning at 6:00 p.m. For wait-list details, please call (617) 482-3170 ext. 335, or email

ACLU of Massachusetts board members Arnie Reisman and Jodie Silverman serve as co-chairs for the event. The dinner’s host committee includes Ron Ansin & Jim Stork, Jarrett T. Barrios, Esq., Lewis Black, Roy & Joan Blount, Joshua & Amy Boger, Torrence Boone & Ted Chapin, Gary Buseck, Elyse Cherry, Sheila & Thomas Decter, Christian Draz, Ellen & Frank Fisher, Celia & Walter Gilbert, Donald W. Glazer, Esq., Barbara & Steven Grossman, Holly Gunner & Anne Chalmers, Scott Harshbarger, Esq., Paul & Patricia Hogan, Jack Hornor & Ron Skinn, Jeffrey F. Jones, Wendy Kaminer & Woody Kaplan, Justin Kaplan & Anne Bernays, Alex MacDonald & Maureen Strafford, Rachel Maddow & Susan Mikula, Kim Marrkand & Kathleen Henry, Carol Master & Sherry Mayrent, Keith Olbermann, Robert & Joan Parker, John & Kathy Roberts, Nancy Rosenblum, Richard & Anne Rosenfeld, Stephen Rosenfeld, Esq., Representative Byron Rushing, Paul & Ann Sagan, Norma & Ben Shapiro, Andrea Silbert, David & Lisa Solomon, Marc Solomon,
John & Holly Thomas, Phil & Kate Villers, Ellen Wade & Maureen Brodoff, and David Wilson & Robert Compton.

For further details about the honorees, speakers, and the event, please see:

Sign up to be the first to hear about how to take action.