ACLU Announces 2001 Youth Activism College Scholarship Recipients

May 23, 2001 12:00 am

Media Contact
125 Broad Street
18th Floor
New York, NY 10004
United States


NEW YORK, NY–The American Civil Liberties Union today proudly announced the twelve high school seniors selected to receive a $4,000 college scholarship in recognition of their outstanding contributions in defense of civil liberties.

The ACLU’s College Scholarship for Youth Activism Award, created one year ago, recognizes the efforts of graduating seniors who have demonstrated a strong commitment to civil liberties throughout their careers in secondary school.

“”The ACLU’s College Scholarship for Youth Activism Award gives us an opportunity to recognize the courage of these students and the example they set for their peers,”” said Nadine Strossen, President of the National ACLU. “”It truly is an honor to be able to provide these intelligent, resourceful and committed young people with support for their education.””

All of the scholarship winners were required to summit a personal statement expressing their commitment to civil liberties.

Many of the students selected stood up for the rights of their peers by challenging the injustices inflicted upon them by school officials; created an ACLU chapter at their school; or interned at the ACLU affiliate office in their state. In 2000, the first year of the program, the ACLU awarded scholarships to eight high school seniors.

The ACLU College Scholarship Fund was made possible by a generous grant from an anonymous donor.

This year’s recipients hail from California, Florida, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.

The winners are:

  • Jonathan Eli Arnold, Franklin, TN, Page High School
  • Amiris Brown, Durham, NC, Jordan High School
  • Geny Cabral, New York, NY, Central Park East Secondary School
  • Lindsay Earls, Tecumseh, OK, Tecumseh High School
  • Alec Gibbs Holly, MI, Fenton Senior High School
  • David Lau, Naperville, IL, Naperville High School
  • Gabriel Martinez, Martinez, CA, Alhambra High School
  • Tamika McDonald, Los Angeles, CA, Manual Arts High School
  • Daniel Palugyai, Miami, FL, Palmetto High School
  • Annie Preziosi, Fair Haven, NJ, Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School
  • Jamie Snow, Louisville, KY, Ballard High School
  • Eric Webster, Readfield, ME, Maranacook Community School

    For more information on each of the recipients, visit our feature at

  • Sign up to be the first to hear about how to take action.

    Learn More About the Issues in This Press Release